Running home

I realized that

2 am conversations 

cannot compare to the

conversations we have

when our eyes are closed,

our breaths long and deep

and our bodies light yet immovable

just an hour before midnight

 

The look you give

that matches the smile on your face

and the gleam of your eyes

cannot compare

to the look you give

that compliments the sadness in your eyes

that keep on screaming

“I love you but I’m barely holding on”

 

And I realized that

at the end of this relationship

I will have my heart broken

by you, you will be my first

heartbreak in a long time

and there is no point

in running away from you

because you are my home now,

home is where the heart is

and I’m not running away from home.

Leave a Reply

